karnataka assembly election: BJP to announce first list of candidates for Karnataka today

The BJP Central Election Committee met on Sunday evening to finalise the candidates for the upcoming Karnataka assembly polls. Sources told ET that the first list of candidates will be released on Monday.

The meeting was attended by CEC members including PM Modi, home minister Amit Shah, defence minister Rajnath Singh, BJP president JP Nadda, general secretary (organisation) BL Santhosh and others. From Karnataka, chief minister Basavaraj Bommai, senior leader BS Yediyurappa, BJP general secretary, CT Ravi, state BJP president Nalin Kumar Kateel and Union minister Pralhad Joshi were also present at the meeting. Apart from these leaders, Karnataka BJP in-charge Arun Singh, co-incharge DK Aruna, election in-charge Dharmendra Pradhan and election co-incharge Mansukh Mandaviya also attended the meeting.

State BJP leaders Bommai, Yediyurappa and Kateel had arrived on Friday evening and since then regular meetings were taking place at the residence of JP Nadda. Shah and other central leaders were also part of those meetings.

On Saturday, CT Ravi and Govind Karjol also came to Delhi to be part of the deliberation over the party candidates. A final meeting of all these leaders took place early on Sunday at Nadda’s residence to give a final shape to the list ahead of putting it before the CEC for approval.

The BJP has been careful this time in the selection of candidates and apart from surveys by specialised agencies, a survey has also been conducted among the party workers to select the most winnable candidate for each constituency. Three candidates have been shortlisted for each seat.

However, sources told ET that the list of MLAs being denied the ticket won’t be too long to avoid defectors. Bommai, BS Vijayendra, CT Ravi, Ramesh Jarkiholi and a few others are almost sure to find a place in the list.

As per sources, JP Nadda said during the meetings that the main criteria for candidate selection would be winnability and not mere proximity to the state leaders. He asked the state leaders to work to ensure the victory of the party candidates.The Congress has already announced candidates for 142 seats while the JD (S) has announced for 93 seats.

Source link

Related Posts

Hot News


usefull links

robis robis robis